Feb 11, 2012; Toronto, ON, Canada; Montreal Canadiens defenseman PK Subban (76) retrieves the puck against the Toronto Maple Leafs at the Air Canada Centre. The Canadiens beat the Maple Leafs 5-0. Mandatory Credit: Tom Szczerbowski-USA TODAY Sports

2013 NHL Awards: Day One Recap, Day Two Predictions

May 2, 2013; Washington, DC, USA; Washington Capitals left wing Alex Ovechkin (8) shoots the puck on New York Rangers goalie Henrik Lundqvist (30) in the first period of game one of the first round of the 2013 Stanley Cup playoffs at Verizon Center. Mandatory Credit: Geoff Burke-USA TODAY Sports

The first batch of NHL awards are in the books and while the more notable awards will be announced tonight at seven, here is a quick recap of last night:


Jonathan Toews beat out Patrice Bergeron and Pavel Datsyuk for the Frank J. Selke Trophy awarded to the leagues best defensive forward while Paul MacLean of the Ottawa Senators won the Jack Adams Award given to the head coach of the year. MacLean was nominated alongside Bruce Boudreau and Joel Quenneville.

Martin St. Louis took home the Lady Bing Memorial Trophy awarded for sportsmanship and Ray Shero of the Pittsburgh Penguins was named general manager of the year. The Bill Masterson Trophy given to a player who exhibits perseverance and dedication to the sport was given to Minnesota Wild goaltender Josh Harding who fought through multiple sclerosis to make five regular season starts and five playoff starts after Wild starter Niklas Backstrom went down with an injury. Daniel Alfredsson beat out Toews and Dustin Brown to win the Mark Messier Leadership Award while Patrice Bergeron was awarded the King Clancy Memorial Trophy. Finally Henrik Zetterberg was given the NHL Foundation Player Award for making an impact off the ice in his community.

Day 2 Predictions:

Calder Memorial Trophy

(NHL Rookie of the Year)

Jonathan Huberdeau, Florida Panthers

Brendan Gallagher, Montreal Canadiens

Brandon Saad, Chicago Blackhawks


Jonathan Huberdeau: I mean is there any other option here?

Ted LindsayAward

Apr 11, 2013; Winnipeg, Manitoba, CAN; Winnipeg Jets goalie Ondrej Pavelec (31) tries to see past Florida Panthers forward Jonathan Huberdeau (11) during the third period at the MTS Center. Winnipeg wins 7-2. Mandatory Credit: Bruce Fedyck-USA TODAY Sports

(NHL’s Most Outstanding Player, voted on by NHLPA members)

Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins

Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals

Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning


Sidney Crosby: Despite missing 12 regular season games, Crosby should be a pretty safe bet here.

Vezina Trophy

(Top Goaltender)

Sergei Bobrovsky, Columbus Blue Jackets

Henrik Lundqvist, New York Rangers

Antti Niemi, San Jose Sharks


Henrik Lundqvist: Who would have thought we would be seeing Sergei Bobrovsky’s name in a Vezina conversation, no one is more upset about this than the Philadelphia Flyers. That being said, Lundqvist looks primed to win his second straight Vezina tonight.

James Norris Memorial Trophy

(Top Defenseman)

P.K. Subban, Montreal Canadiens

Kris Letang, Pittsburgh Penguins

Ryan Suter, Minnesota Wild


P.K. Subban

Hart Memorial Trophy


Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins

Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals

John Tavares, New York Islanders


Sidney Crosby: I do not see the Professional Hockey Writers Association going with anyone other than the media darling Crosby, and rightfully so.

Tune in to NBC Sports Network at 7 pm ET to see who really takes home the hardware. Do you agree with the picks? Share your thoughts below.

Next Panthers Game Full schedule »
Saturday, Nov 11 Nov7:00Philadelphia FlyersBuy Tickets

Tags: 2013 Nhl Awards Hart Memorial Trophy

comments powered by Disqus