Mar 27, 2012; Montreal, QC, CAN; Montreal Canadiens center Ryan White (53) and Florida Panthers defenseman Erik Gudbanson (44) fight as linesman Tony Sericolo (84) looks on during the third period at the Bell Center in Montreal, Quebec, Canada. Mandatory Credit: Jean-Yves Ahern-US PRESSWIRE

Team History Series: Montreal Canadiens

In this installment of my Team History Series, we explore the Montreal Canadiens Hockey Club.

After doing extensive research on this club for my article, I was surprised to learn this team has been the most successful hockey club with 24 Stanley Cup wins.  The next closest  team is the Toronto Maple Leafs with 13.  However, the team with the most wins in the U.S.A is the Detroit Red Wings with 11.  The next closest team are the Boston Bruins with 6.

The Montreal Canadiens hail from Montreal, Quebec, Canada, and play in the Northeast Division of the Eastern Conference in the National Hockey League or NHL.

Founded in 1909, the Canadiens played in the former National Hockey Association from 1909-1917 before the NHL took them over in 1917.  The hockey club was Charter Member of the National Hockey Association and was startedby J. Ambrose O’Brien.  Ownership was transferred to George Kennedy after their 1st year.  Current owners are the Molson Family.

In 1996, the Canadiens arena was named the Bell Centre.  The former names of the arena are Jubilee Rink, Montreal Westmount Arena, Mount Royal Arena, and Montreal Forum.

Fans, Management, and Canada have the right to very proud of this hockey club as they have a 34 Stanley Cup appearances.  Out of 34, 24 resulted in wins, and only 9 loses.  Their win percentage is .706.

Stanley Cup wins were achieved in 1916, 1924, 1930, 1931, 1944, 1946, 1953, 1956, 1957, 1958, 1959, 1960, 1965, 1966, 1968 (the year I was born), 1969, 1971, 1973, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1986, and 1993 (when they defeated the current champions, the Los Angeles Kings).

Conference Championships were won in 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1981, 1986, 1989, and 1993.

Division Championships were won in 1928, 1929, 1930, 1931, 1932, 1937, 1968, 1969, 1973, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1985, 1988, 1989, 1992, and most recently 4 years ago, in 2008.

The Hamilton Bulldogs of the American Hockey League is one of their Minor League affiliates.  The other one is the Wheeling Nailers of the East Coast Hockey League.

Marc Bergevin is General Manager, Michel Therrien is Head Coach, and Brian Gionta is Captain.


comments powered by Disqus